Student Interview: Holger (23yo) Jena, Germany/Limerick, Ireland

Student Interview: Holger (23) Jena, Germany/Limerick, Ireland “When the lecturer manages to catch my interest I usually like the lecture”Holger Profil © Copyright 2012 Where do you come from and where is your home university?

Germany, Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena.

What is your exchange programme?

Erasmus.

How long have you been in Ireland?

A little over 3 months.

What do you study in Ireland? And why?

  • English/Irish/German Literature as they are part of my studies at my home-university and I need the credits.
  • Gaelic, Irish Heritage because they are interesting topics.
  • And English for academic purposes to improve my English.

Why did you choose to come to study in Ireland?

I wanted to study in a country where English is native language. When I finally made the decision that I really want to go somewhere, Ireland was the only country left.

Bar Lounge © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.What are the things you like most in Ireland?

Language, Pub-culture, landscape, friendly people, Limerick Babtist Church.

What are the things you dislike most in Ireland?

Littering.

Did you get to know the Irish students? How did you manage to do that?

Some, mainly in the lectures when we had to do presentations together and through other (Erasmus-) students who met Irish students. Also through the sports activities.

Were there any activities offered by your university or the student organization?

Yes, sports (Badminton on Monday and Wednesday), the introduction tour through the college and several pubs.

Have you visited the country? How?

Yes, weekend trips by car or bus.

What are your favourite leisure activities?

Sports (swimming, soccer, badminton, table tennis), reading, walking, watching movies.

What do you think about the Irish lecturers in your university? And about the education in general?

Some are really good, some are not so good. As usual, it depends on the lecturer. When the lecturer manages to catch my interest I usually like the lecture. I don’t really know enough about education in general to talk about it.

Is there anything in the Education system that you’d like to bring back home?

Essays for some lectures instead of exams.

What is your best memory of you experience in Ireland?

Meeting with friends in a pub, for Thursday’s football match or at the Limerick Baptist church.

What is your worst memory of you experience in Ireland?

Being sick, and not feeling able to do anything and just wanting to sleep in my own bed.

Would you like to extend your stay in Ireland for another year/semester for instance?

Since I know that there won’t be any courses I could attend, since I’m already doing 4th year courses. I would say no.

Text: Freddy D.
Photo: Freddy D.

  1. Hogler’s Shadow © Copyright 2012
  2. Aunty Lenas Bar Lounge © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.

[Home] [Latest News]

Leave a Reply

