Student Interview: Laurie (20yo) La Roche Sur Yon, France/Limerick, Ireland

Student Interview: Laurie (20) La Roche Sur Yon, France/Limerick, Ireland “some Irish students are really nice, they make all they can to make you feel good”Laurie Mirror © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.

 Where do you come from and where is your home university?

I come from France and my university is called Ices and is at La Roche Sur Yon, a city in Vendee, on the West coast (of France).

What is your exchange programme?

Envoleo.

How long have you been in Ireland?

Four months in April 2012.

What do you study in Ireland? And why?

I study German, English, French Literature, Irish and Welsh Literature and Archaeology (Léann Dúchais – Irish Heritage Studies). I didn’t really have the choice of my modules. In fact in my home university I study languages and my university told me what I had to choose.

Why did you choose to come to study in Ireland?

 Because Ireland is a country I wanted to discover.

Irish West Coast © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.What are the things you like most in Ireland?

Its landscapes, its people, and the belief in Leprechauns. I like it also because it changes from France. It’s a new culture, there are new people. I like meeting new people and discovering new customs.

What are the things you dislike most in Ireland?

Sometimes the weather when the wind is really cold.

Did you get to know the Irish students? How did you manage to do that?

Yes, I spoke to Irish students during my German and my French class. I told it, I really like to meet new people so it’s wasn’t really hard. And some of them are really nice, they make all they can to make you feel good.

Were there any activities offered by your university or the student organization?

 The Choral Society and The Aerobic Class.

Have you visited the country? How?

Yes,  by bus and once by car.

 What are your favourite leisure activities?

 Discovering the country, singing (I attend the choral society), having a good time with my new Erasmus and Irish friends. The aerobic class at MIC with Shavonne (coach).

What do you think about the Irish lecturers in your university? And about the education  in general?

It’s different, I like it but I don’t know how to explain. And the relationship between the teachers and the students are closer than those we have in France, I think it’s better.

Is there anything in the Education system that you’d like to bring back home?

The confidence and the relationship between teachers and students.

 What is your best memory of you experience in Ireland?

 I have a lot, I can’t choose one. Visiting this beautiful country, laughing with my new Irish and Erasmus friends…

 What is your worst memory of you experience in Ireland?

Some problems of collocation (City Campus).

 Would you like to extend your stay in Ireland for another year/semester for instance?

Yes, I would like to stay longer, it’s sure.

Text: Freddy D.
Photo: Freddy D.

  1. Laurie and the mirror © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.
  2. Irish West Coast © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.

[Home] [Latest News]

Leave a Reply

