Student Interview: Julie (20yo) Reims, France/Dublin, Ireland

Student Interview: Julie (20), “Irish students are really kind with me”Julie D St. Patrick's Day © Copyright 2012

Where do you come from and where is your home university?

I come from France and my home university is Université de Droit et Lettres, at Reims.

What is your exchange programme?

Erasmus.

How long have you been in Ireland?

From January to June.

What do you study in Ireland? And why?

I study literature and cinema studies, because I was curious to discover new courses.

Why did you choose to come to study in Ireland?

Because it’s a country I always wanted to see. A lot of people told me it was grand here. I did not hesitate.

Galway Museum Statue of an Irish man © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.What are the things you like most in Ireland?

The atmosphere, Irish people are really nice.

What are the things you dislike most in Ireland?

It may be the cold wind.

Did you get to know the Irish students? How did you manage to do that?

There are not many Erasmus students in my school, as they just started the Erasmus exchange, so I spend most of my days only with Irish students… who are really kind with me.Julie D Saint Patrick © Copyright 2012

Were there any activities offered by your university or the student organization?

I don’t really know…

Have you visited the country? How?

Not yet, but I’m planning to do that soon.

 What are your favourite leisure activities?

Hanging out with friends and talking English with people from everywhere!

What do you think about the Irish lecturers in your university? And about the education in general?

I think they have a better way to teach, but it’s a bit less strict than in France, and for some points it’s kind of shocking (students going in and out of the course anytime for example).

Is there anything in the Education system that you’d like to bring back home?

How the teachers are really interested by the success of each student.

 What is your best memory of you experience in Ireland?

People I met.

What is your worst memory of you experience in Ireland?

I don’t have one.

Would you like to extend your stay in Ireland for another year/semester for instance?

I don’t, because I miss my family and my relatives!

Text: Freddy D.
Photo: Freddy D.

  1. Julie D Saint Patrick’s day 1 © Copyright 2012
  2. Galway Museum Statue of an Irish man © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.
  3. Julie D Saint Patrick’s day 2 © Copyright 2012

[Home] [Latest News]

Leave a Reply

