Preparations & Accommodation

There, you’ll find the latest news about my experience in Ireland. You’ll also find testimonies of some of my friends.

I’m not going to talk about the selections to be accepted as an Erasmus student, I will tell you what happened after that. At the end of March, the person in charge of the Erasmus exchange with Ireland told me that I was selected to go to Limerick and to study at Mary Immaculate College.

King John's Castle Limerick © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.

King John's Castle, Limerick

Mary Immaculate College © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.

Mary Immaculate College, Limerick

July 2011:

Preparations for the departure were not easy and it was important to be well prepared before going to a foreign country.

Renting a private apartment:

If you want to find an apartment, which was my case, the best way is to book a room in a hotel for a few days so that you can calmly visit the flats which would suit you the best. You will have less pressure doing this way, I stayed at Patrick Punch’s Hotel, which I can’t but recommand it to you, it is really nice and very close to Mary I.

Before leaving your home country, you can make a pre-selection of what type of flat you’d like to visit by using those websites:

In my opinion the best areas next to Mary I are:

  • Alandale Orchard, Ballinacurra, Limerick, Ireland
  • Fitzhaven Square, Ballinacurra, Limerick, Co. Limerick, Irlande

A (Alandale), B (Fitzhaven), C (Patrick Punch’s Hotel), D (Mary I)

I do advise you to be cautious about the choice of your living area since some places are said not to be really safe.

It’s up to you but avoid as much as possible to rent a place at Steamboat Quay, Windmill or any places in this area.

♣  For those who want to share an accommodation:

Several student accommodations are available around Mary I:

  1. Residence Block (Irish Girls only) ~ On campus ~ Link
  2. Courtbrack (mostly for first year Irish students – It’s very noisy) ~ Owned by Mary I. 4min walk to college ~ Link
  3. Ashdown ~ Apartment accommodation.  3 mins walk to the college ~ Link
  4. City campus ~ 10 – 15 mins walk to the college.close to the city centre ~ Link

As the Irish say, “Good luck!”

Text: Freddy D.
Photo: Freddy D.

  1. Limerick workmen close-up welcome to Limerick © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.
  2. King John’s Castle, Limerick © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.
  3. Mary Immaculate College, Limerick © Copyright 2012 Freddy D.

[Home] [Latest News]

Leave a Reply

